Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411581 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 05, 2024, 05:36:14 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingMeritocratic Individualism
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Meritocratic Individualism  (Read 3274 times)
Ice Water Games
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« on: April 30, 2011, 08:32:09 PM »

A game about gift, debt, egalitarian and hierarchical societal modes, inspired by an Intro to Cultural Anthropology class.

It's my first try at representational games, although its goal-free so it still ain't exactly a conventional game.

Here it is on Kong: http://www.kongregate.com/games/Hplus/meritocratic-individualism

I think it's finished, but I am still here for feedback, and that's why I'm posting in the feedback forum!

Noyb
Level 9

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2011, 09:29:11 PM »

Very interesting. I began by essentially trying to distribute my food (I'm assuming that the resource is food since it grows scarce in the winter) fairly among my four neighbors. With the fast procession of the seasons, it felt like a lot to try to keep track of until I realized that the circles showed me how equal the exchanges were.

After keeping everything in equilibrium for a while, I tried pushing one of my circles to one of my neighbors. I was surprised that this caused me to own my neighbor, since I had mapped the action to sharing food. Did the game take this as meaning that the neighbor was so dependent on my crops that they were essentially a part of my lands? Am I physically buying the land. I didn't expect that the same mechanic would map to both a philanthropic transfer of food and a greedy purchase of land. They're both based on a transfer of wealth, so it makes a certain amount of sense, I suppose.