Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411591 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58443 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 07, 2024, 05:46:50 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessGame Download Hosting
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Game Download Hosting  (Read 2754 times)
eclectocrat
Level 5

Most of your personality is unconscious.

View Profile
« on: June 08, 2011, 10:24:44 PM »

Hey y'all!

I'm really close to releasing my game (in Beta) and I'm wondering what options I have to host the executable downloads.

Full disclosure:
-approx. 5mb download size.
-for Mac, Linux, Windows
-the game is closed source, and it's intended to help drive sales of the iOS version. It is free, will remain free but it's ultimately part of a commercial project.

So: Where to host? If I end up paying for hosting, does anyone have some recommendations, I have no experience with web hosts and I fear getting caught in a scam or really poor service.

If I've posted a FAQ, please direct me to relevant resources (I'm sorry my search-fu is pretty bad).

Thanks for your attention, and have a lovely day!

I make Mysterious Castle, a Tactics-Roguelike
AuthenticKaizen
Freeware Ninja
Level 10

*Prestige Worldwide*

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2011, 11:27:30 PM »

i recommend dropbox.
their free account offers 2 gb storage and 10 gb bandwidth per day.
so the daily max download count for your 5 mb game would be 2000.
oh and it's direct a download. so obviously no ads and stuff.
note: you don't have to download the dropbox software. just click login in the upper right corner and register a free account. done.

another alternative is box.net.
traffic is 10 gb per month and no ads, digit codes or forced wait time etc.

i've also written a little article about file hosters on pixelprospector.