Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411643 Posts in 69394 Topics- by 58450 Members - Latest Member: pp_mech

May 14, 2024, 09:01:26 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioNewbie to composing. Question about chiptunes and software.
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Newbie to composing. Question about chiptunes and software.  (Read 2410 times)
tehbes2
TIGBaby

View Profile
« on: December 07, 2011, 03:40:44 PM »

Hi, I'm looking to create music for a game in chiptune style. I'm also considering making money off of this game (eventually). Now I know I'd be better off in terms of money hiring someone to do this for me, but I like having a lot of creative control. Only problem is I have very little experience, and am not sure where to start. I'd very much prefer to not have to rely on hardware, and would rather use something like LMMS or FL studio.

So my question is, what programs are best capable of composing chiptunes and are available for commercial use? Any free?

Thanks.
Halcyon
Level 2

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2011, 10:54:20 PM »

Really any DAW is capable of composing 'chiptunes' as they are most often composed of the simplest wave forms. It is up to you, would you prefer a tracker or a sequencer? do you want a basic program or one with built in effects (such as filters, eq, delay etc.)?

The DAW is a tool for you to use to compose with, if you don't know how to compose already or have a decent idea at least, using the programs will be of little use; sure you can screw around in the programs and maybe even come up with something half decent but really you need to learn basic theory and if possible learning some piano would help you immensly.