Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411539 Posts in 69383 Topics- by 58439 Members - Latest Member: isabel.adojo

May 02, 2024, 06:11:35 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGamesTexas Independent Games Conference
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Texas Independent Games Conference  (Read 4059 times)
larsiusprime
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« on: July 07, 2007, 01:19:34 PM »

Hey everybody!

I know I'm kind of a lurker on these forums, so I figure I'd better start posting on a regular basis. I'm an indie developer from Texas and I was wondering if anyone else was going to the Texas Indie Games Conference?

http://www.independentgameconference.com/

I was there last year and it was really, really cool. Conferences are a great place to learn a lot of stuff and make great contacts. And the price is right - it cost me only about a hundred bucks to go. Compare that to the several hundred for Austin Games Conference and however many thousands GDC is up to these days. I went to the Austin Games Conference last year, and it was a total letdown. If you weren't doing MMO's there was nothing there of interest.

There were some great talks (at last year's TIGC) from Greg Costikyan, Don Gillman, Warren Spector, and Steve Jackson. One of the other hilights was at the last day of the conference, where everyone busted out their demos and showed them off to everybody. It was pretty dang cool.

The TIGC has a great price and is totally worth it. If you live in the area, you should definitely go.

-Lars Doucet
« Last Edit: July 07, 2007, 01:21:49 PM by larsiusprime » Logged

Nostrils!
ஒழுக்கின்மை (Paul Eres)
Level 10

Also known as रिंकू.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2007, 05:27:38 PM »

I live in New Jersey D:

Sounds fun though, give us a report on how it went!

larsiusprime
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2007, 08:11:06 PM »