Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411593 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58444 Members - Latest Member: FightingFoxGame

May 07, 2024, 12:21:15 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Big map scrolling
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Big map scrolling  (Read 1309 times)
rejwan
Level 0

View Profile
« on: August 01, 2010, 07:42:11 AM »

Hello,
My name is Ron and I'm a small game developer.

Recently I've finished the 1st stage of my new game War Legends (http://www.warlegends.com) which the client was programmed in Flex 3.0.

Now basically the world is made out of hex tiles, and the player can move the map around either by clicking and dragging the map or clicking the minimap.

The coder I hired to write the map drawing component made it in a pretty non-scalable way (the entire map is drawn into a bitmap object and thrown on the appliaction) - this is fine for small maps, but for larger ones this causes a very long loading time (which even causes the loading to fail on older computers).

Now I obviously need to remake that component, question is, what is the best approach for this? Obviously the client doesn't need all the map if the player is only shown a small portion of the map - so I'm guessing it has something to do with that Smiley

Screenshot attached from the game.

nikki
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2010, 07:53:28 AM »

well the basics are laid already, you just load the (hex)tiles you need (only the truly different tiles), read the 'world' data (wich build the big worldmap with tiles) and show the right tiles in the right place.

at the end you can put the tiles together (drawn into a bitmap) and display them.

looks pretty by the way

Kekskiller
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2010, 08:00:15 AM »