Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411606 Posts in 69388 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: gravitygat

May 08, 2024, 06:36:01 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignLooking for some advice
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Looking for some advice  (Read 4434 times)
GColumbu
Level 0

View Profile
« on: July 14, 2023, 06:35:19 AM »

Hello!   

My name is George, and I'm 23 years old. Recently, I graduated from university where I studied computer science. For my bachelor's degree project, I decided to create a 2D pixelated game called EpicRun, which I absolutely loved working on. My dream is to become an indie game developer, and for my first major project, I want to develop a mobile game for kids with graphics similar to "Clash Royale" or "Clash of Clans." While I'm proficient in programming, particularly Java which I also use at work, I have limited knowledge about game development

I built the EpicRun game using the libGDX framework in Java, and I became quite skilled with it. I did everything from 0 and I was quite thrilled with the finished product, even scoring a 9.5/10 for my degree with it. Since this will be my first significant project, I want to ensure that I document everything thoroughly from the beginning. The game I'm planning to create will be for mobile platforms, and I'm uncertain about whether I should continue using a framework like libGDX (which supports mobile game development) or switch to a game engine like Unreal (I will have to learn this one, but from what I've seen I don't expect to be a major challenge). I've heard various opinions about the advantages and disadvantages of each option, and I would greatly appreciate any insights you can provide.