Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411644 Posts in 69395 Topics- by 58450 Members - Latest Member: pp_mech

May 15, 2024, 06:10:36 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioSeeking feedback for two tracks
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Seeking feedback for two tracks  (Read 1127 times)
stevesan
Level 3

Experienced coder, n00b designer.

View Profile
« on: March 19, 2012, 10:26:45 AM »

I'm a long-time amateur musician and only recently started writing music (in GarageBand) for my own indie games. Just wanted to get some feedback on two tracks I made for two small puzzle games I'm working on. The first is live in my prototype:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/48378162/pupil_web/index.html

Also available on SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/stevesan/dilation-1

The second game isn't prototype-ready yet, but the track is here. It's another mind-bending (I hope) puzzle game, and I want this to set the mood:
http://soundcloud.com/stevesan/weightless-chill-factory-1-0

Any thoughts/suggestions for making them better as puzzle game soundtracks? Are they a bit distracting? I'm totally new at this, so lemme have it!

s0
o
Level 10

eurovision winner 2014

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 10:44:40 AM »

Are they a bit distracting?
i think the bell-like sound you're using for the lead melody in both tracks be a bit intrusive if they're just intended as background music.

also i think a track with a driving beat like the first one ("dilation") might be a bit out of place in a puzzle game (depending on the type of puzzle game obv). to me, a strong rhythmic backing implies continuous forward motion and puzzle games tend to be about stopping to contemplate rather than constantly moving forward. more ambient material like the second track would be more fitting i think.

they're good otherwise though! Smiley
baconman
Level 10

Design Guru