Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411566 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58444 Members - Latest Member: darkcitien

May 04, 2024, 06:21:54 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingLandscape / Erosion Toy
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Landscape / Erosion Toy  (Read 4417 times)
Loren Schmidt
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« on: September 07, 2010, 12:52:53 AM »

Every so often I get interested in something and just start programming with no real goal in mind. I started playing around with erosion a few days ago. This started as a pure simulation, but I thought it would be a lot more engaging if it were more hands-on.

So here is what I ended up with. It's a hokey erosion simulator + landscape generator + landscape doodling toy:
http://vacuumflowers.com/temp/landscape

This isn't quite a game, so feel free to move the topic to wherever it would be most appropriate. Thanks!
increpare
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2010, 01:04:55 AM »

Texturally I quite like it - though it's a bit limited in its variety.  Also pretty slow on my laptop (2.4 Ghz macbook)

[ Also, for a second I thought the (upper part of the) first screenshot was a scan of somebody's bottom. ]
Loren Schmidt
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2010, 01:26:22 AM »

Yes, it runs rather inefficiently, I'm afraid. The simulation is pretty fast, but the rendering (which I'm sure is by no means optimal) slows things down a lot. You can change the resolution of the landscape with the bracket [] keys. Decreasing the detail a bit might help with the frame rate.
RichMakeGame!
Level 3

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2010, 02:33:23 AM »

pretty fun to doodle about in.. slow for me too (seemed like my browser nearly crashed when I accidentally right clicked on it Tongue )

what does 't' do?