Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411644 Posts in 69395 Topics- by 58450 Members - Latest Member: pp_mech

May 15, 2024, 03:01:38 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusiness4 questions to indie game devs
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: 4 questions to indie game devs  (Read 1314 times)
sudocolon
« on: May 10, 2012, 09:23:00 PM »

Hello. I am a student of the Texas Business Alliance Youth Entrepreneurship Academy and I have an assignment to interview people of the industry I intend to enter. I am currently a hobbyist, but I plan some growth in the future. To those who have decided to pursue game development full or part-time:

1. Why and when did you decide to become a part of this business?
2. What are some entrepreneurial skills and characteristics you possess?
3. What are your biggest obstacles as a developer?
4. How do you market your games to the public?

Please tell if you have any advice for me, or if you want to discuss your game and what you have done to promote it.

Thank you
davidp
Level 6

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2012, 10:10:28 PM »

It was back in the 2002 and I was searching for a simple DOS FPS editor, where you placed items and built a level which you can then play... Was a big freak of FPS games for my life, especially early id stuff and that program really seemed like mana from the skies.

I love doing what I like - so if I work on something I find interesting and good I'll speend maximum amount of time possible working on that stuff, so I'd say the drive, passion... But it quickly fades away is I find subject boring.

Lack of artistic skills. I mean I can program in html5, javascript, php, c#, but that don't mean shit when I can't make it appealing, even to myself - most of the time I quit my projects because I can only look at crappy placeholder graphics for so long.