Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411644 Posts in 69395 Topics- by 58450 Members - Latest Member: pp_mech

May 15, 2024, 12:34:38 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusiness5 Questions on Pricing Games
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: 5 Questions on Pricing Games  (Read 1428 times)
sudocolon
« on: May 20, 2012, 04:06:15 PM »

Hello. I am a student of the Texas Business Alliance Youth Entrepreneurship Academy and I have five more questions for you all.

1. Do you set the price of your game based on cost, competition, value, or some combination of those elements?
2. What do you take into consideration when you set your price?
3. When do you change your price?
4. What mistakes have you made in pricing your games?
5. Do you believe it is a good idea to advertise your price?

Thank you
ஒழுக்கின்மை (Paul Eres)
Level 10

Also known as रिंकू.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2012, 06:12:06 PM »

1. none of the above. i'd set it based on the platform --  e.g. the same game would be priced higher on pc than on iphone, or xblig

2. the average price of a new game for that platform, and nothing else

3. after time has passed; a year or two at the earliest

4. none. i've certainly made mistakes with my game and its marketing, but not its price

5. i don't see why. usually you do *not* want to attract customers who buy your game on a whim because it's a low price, because those people probably won't even bother playing the game and are not long-term fans

sudocolon
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2012, 03:41:40 PM »

Thanks for the input.

The only thing I see wrong with my current model is not waiting long enough before changing my price. I guess I need to be more patient and work on something else while I wait.
ஒழுக்கின்மை (Paul Eres)
Level 10

Also known as रिंकू.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2012, 03:44:16 PM »