Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411623 Posts in 69391 Topics- by 58447 Members - Latest Member: sinsofsven

May 11, 2024, 05:12:55 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)spritesheet question
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: spritesheet question  (Read 1691 times)
Ethan_Hall
Level 0

View Profile
« on: May 31, 2012, 09:20:01 PM »

Hey all,

Hopefully this question isn't too noob. I'm a programmer, not an artist, so I'm not versed in this stuff.

I made a game a while back using XNA and I'm making one now using Allegron 5. When I made my spritesheets for my game (in MS Paint... see, not an artist) the animation frames had to be lined up perfectly on the spritesheet so that when I switched frames in game, everything would look smooth. Is there a way you could have a spritesheet with frames/images that are relatively in line, but aren't spaced in a pixel perfect way? That would save a bit of manual work on my part.

Not sure if I am making any sense here, but hopefully someone knows what I'm getting at.

Thanks everyone!
retrohelix
Level 1

Hip hop array

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2012, 01:44:56 AM »

I'm sure there are a few good utils out there that will line them up for you, these look somewhat promising:

http://spritesheetmaker.com/
http://www.codeandweb.com/texturepacker.
ASnogarD
Level 1

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2012, 01:55:47 AM »

You could in theory program your code to adjust the image on the fly, something along the lines of finding the top most pixel , bottom pixel and widest pixels , with a variable to hold a center value for the image...

... or just use a editor with a grid built in that makes alignment a snap, give old GraphicsGale a whirl, it has a free version you can download and try out.
here: http://www.humanbalance.net/gale/us/