Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411630 Posts in 69393 Topics- by 58447 Members - Latest Member: sinsofsven

May 11, 2024, 06:47:24 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)How to come up with concept art ?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: How to come up with concept art ?  (Read 1956 times)
indienewb
Level 0

View Profile
« on: June 11, 2012, 11:37:10 PM »

I am not an artist but I can use art tools like maya and model things that I need the problem is I can't visualize my scene environment and so have trouble creating it, I know the mood and the overall feel that I want for it but can't decide how all this comes together so I can't even decide what to model sometimes. How do you guys go from starting with the idea and creating the final environment ?
Rykuth
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2012, 05:16:25 AM »

One technique that I find help in getting ideas from an abstract feeling you have about how it should look to some concrete imagery is a mood board. Basically it's a collection of images that you find from other sources, be it google images, other websites, or even magazines and other printed materials. All of these images should fit with the general mood you are looking for and you should assemble them in a way -- whether digital or physical -- that you can view them all together at the same time. This can help a lot in getting some ideas for a starting place and for what specific objects and images need to be made.

I've usually used this technique for graphic design but I see no reason it couldn't be used for concept art.

Edit: also check through the reference forum, there may be something in there that would help you.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2012, 06:14:58 AM by Rykuth » Logged
nekokoneko
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2012, 07:07:14 AM »