Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411539 Posts in 69383 Topics- by 58439 Members - Latest Member: isabel.adojo

May 02, 2024, 06:24:43 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsSpace Exploration/Shooter Devlog
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Space Exploration/Shooter Devlog  (Read 1322 times)
CheapDevotion
Level 0

View Profile
« on: September 01, 2011, 08:13:29 AM »

Most of my projects are freelance work (or boring), so a devlog is out of the question. This is my first attempt at making a game I would actually want to play, and hopefully others will to.

I have been trolling the forums for sometime now, and you guys seem like a great bunch to get feedback from. In this first devlog, I am going to talk a little bit about the game without giving away all the good stuff. I am going to try to post every other day or so with a bit of progress. This project is an ambitious one, but I have been freelancing for the last few years to gain the experience I need to complete it.

The game is unnamed at the moment but the basic premise is simple. You are placed in a procedurally generated solar system and can take on one of a few different roles in your quest to become rich and famous. This game is going to be a 3d top down shooter with a mix of game elements that I personally love. Before the project is done, I hope to add resource collection, crafting, combat, exploration, player driven economy, and a few other surprises along the way.

I have a few ideas that are going to be "starting points", and I plan to throw these together over the next week or so.

• Proceduarl Terrain and Terrain Texturing
  • Basic Player Movement
  • Decent Camera Controls
  • Simple Weapon/Shooting System
  • Maybe a Simple Enemy or Two