Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411690 Posts in 69399 Topics- by 58453 Members - Latest Member: Arktitus

May 18, 2024, 03:40:51 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallThe Legend of Zelda: Mystery of Solarus DX
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: The Legend of Zelda: Mystery of Solarus DX  (Read 7761 times)
Guillaume
Level 7

View Profile
« on: December 17, 2009, 09:02:33 PM »

Hello there!

My name is Guillaume, I'm a French developer and Computer Science student. I'd like to share some info about a fangame I contribute to.

The Legend of Zelda: Mystery of Solarus started off as a game made on RPG Maker 2000 by Christopho from 2001 to 2002. It came out on April 26th, 2002, and has been downloaded almost 400,000 times solely on theofficial site (we have mirrors on other big websites but no precise count, unfortunately). The game is set to be a direct sequel to "A Link to the Past" on the SNES, using the same graphics and game mechanisms. However, due to the nature of RPG Maker, the game, while a completely playable Action RPG with 9 dungeons, was still heavily flawed in many aspects.

]A spiritual sequel, Mercuri's Chest, was then scheduled, but we only made it to a first demo in 05- the project was abandoned shortly after.

Which leads us to April 2008, during which we announced the development of The Legend of Zelda: Mystery of Solarus DX (or ZSDX to be short). The game would be a remake of the original. The engine is written mainly in C++ (I can provide technical details if you wish, please let me know) to make up for the flaws of the original game, and is placed under the GPL.

We have a first demo that just came out that you can download here:

http://zelda-solarus.com/jeu-zsdx-demo&lang=en