Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411642 Posts in 69394 Topics- by 58449 Members - Latest Member: pp_mech

May 14, 2024, 05:39:11 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessSocial media and marketing questions
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Social media and marketing questions  (Read 2758 times)
fluffrabbit
« on: April 13, 2019, 05:29:06 AM »

Thanks for being available. TIGsource has been a resource for me in the past. This is my first time registering an account.

I have been working on a game for 5 months in private, and I expect it to be ready in about a year. It is not my first game, but it is my largest C++ project so far. Development is fairly straightforward since it's 2D (or 2.5D), but the marketing stuff presents challenges.

Thanks for this thread about sending out 8000 emails to press, and for recommending a webhost that makes sense for my needs, so getting a site running won't be an issue.

Part A: social media

The only remaining marketing obstacle is social media, which I have always despised using. I have noticed that the federated options are very FLOSS-centric, Facebook and Twitter are passe, and Instagram is "a complete waste of time" (not my words). I have also seen mention of forums (including TIG and gamedev.net). I feel like a lightbulb isn't turning on in my head that should be turning on.

Part B: timing

What stage is the best at which to start promoting a game on social media, and what stage for the press? Prototype (early weeks), pre-alpha (some gameplay), alpha (feature-complete), or beta (pre-release)? There may be contention on what terms mean what, but timetables and roadmaps can be helpful.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: April 13, 2019, 06:16:47 AM by fluffrabbit » Logged
Taniya
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2019, 10:41:40 PM »