Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411646 Posts in 69395 Topics- by 58451 Members - Latest Member: Monkey Nuts

May 15, 2024, 08:44:26 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessCrowd funding or patreon or something else
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Crowd funding or patreon or something else  (Read 1442 times)
diegzumillo
Level 10

This avatar is so old I still have a some hair

View Profile WWW
« on: October 17, 2019, 08:04:32 AM »

I'm in a bit of a situation right now. After I finished my PhD and came back to my country I discovered my new diploma needs to go through a stupidly lengthy re-validation process. More than a year of waiting. I have things to do meanwhile, I am continuing my research, also working on my game, but these things don't make money (yet). I have an extremely supportive family and a working wife, so I'm in no real financial risk. But I feel like a freeloader though, and I definitely am it's not just feelings. I would be ok with this for a little longer until things sort out, but I also have a baby coming next july! So, yeah, I don't want to wait for things to sort themselves as it might take too long. It has been hard finding a traditional job where I live, at least with my skills.

So I realized I could turn my current hobby into a temporary solution! And I have ZERO clue on how to proceed. The game won't be done as soon as I'd like, so selling it won't happen in a useful time frame.