Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411522 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 28, 2024, 06:27:33 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Choosing the correct game engine for me!
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Choosing the correct game engine for me!  (Read 3940 times)
Silhouette
Level 0

"Remember, no matter where you go, there you are."

View Profile
« on: December 21, 2009, 02:41:55 PM »

Hey everyone.  I'm new to the TIGForums, and I'm looking for some advice.  As noted in my "obligatory" introduction reply, I've always wanted to make some sort of game, but have never been dedicated or interested for a long enough time.  I'm turning over a new leaf, and I want to give it a shot.  However, I'm not sure where to start.

I'm strongly considering making:
a.) a platforming game (for sure)
and furthermore
b.) a game similar to the likes of either Knytt (less fighting) ... or perhaps Castlevania (lots of fighting)

So yeah, basically something that seems relatively simple in it's early form, but has room for complexity.  What I'm not looking to make is a standard "jump on enemies, gather coins game"(mario clone).  Although that could be a good start while learning.

I need something that is relatively easy to begin with, but can be quite powerful and suit my needs in the long run.  I also need a fair learning curve, as to not blow my mind.  I have next to no prior game making experience or coding/scripting (whatever it's even called) experience.  The most I've ever done was mess around making a few maps for a Player Worlds game (lol), do some minor scripting in RPGMaker (lol), and attempt to learn object movement in C#(with XNA tools). However, all of these events ended rather quickly because I was:
a.) a lazy ass
b.) lacking a work ethic, or dedication