Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411514 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 27, 2024, 01:54:57 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)My Game Broke! :[
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: My Game Broke! :[  (Read 1337 times)
Silhouette
Level 0

"Remember, no matter where you go, there you are."

View Profile
« on: December 28, 2009, 09:18:43 PM »

Hey guys... Concerned

So yeah, my game broke.

I started working on a sample game in GM.  The main reason: to learn the basic of GM8.  Everything has been going smoothly.  I haven't used any advanced features yet, and I have been mainly dealing with the drag and drop functions(because I am indeed a total newb).

So tonight, I was working on my game, updating all of the sprites.  I decided to remake my sprites for power ups.  Upon changing all of my sprites from the originals to the new ones, I ran my game to see how they looked.

Wtf?  No power ups?

Basically, the power ups ceased to spawn, and I have no idea why.  In fact, there is no reason whatsoever for the power ups to not spawn.  I've checked through the objects, events, and sprites millions of times, and everything is as it should be.  Running the game provides no error messages at all, and even remaking the events for the power ups does not work.

Something even more weird is that while 7 of the 8 power ups don't spawn, 1 does.  It's the only that spawns, and I don't understand why.  If I replace the sprite of the power up that does spawn with one of the others, it won't spawn.  How does that even make sense?

So maybe my sprites are the problem?  Nope.  When I use the sprite that does display for the spawnable power up with the ones that don't spawn, they still don't spawn.  Uhm, burn in hell you unspawnable power ups!