Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411275 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 04:43:14 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityJams & EventsCompetitionsOld CompetitionsAssemblee: Part 2Bleerg - another roguelike entry [Finished]
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Bleerg - another roguelike entry [Finished]  (Read 4647 times)
cndpnts
« on: January 03, 2010, 05:24:52 PM »

I found out about Assemblee through a link on reddit and after seeing Oryx's tiles I decided I just had to try to build a tiny roguelike. I've never written a game before and the Jan. 10th deadline is coming up quick, so I'll set the bar low and count anything that's playable as a personal success.

For now it's going by the name "Bleerg", which is what I said in frustration while trying to come up with an actual name.

I'll be using the HTML5 canvas element and javascript as the basis. I have a mercurial repo at http://bitbucket.org/buzaan/cvrogue with what I have now and hope to find hosting before the deadline.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2010, 11:10:08 PM by cndpnts » Logged
deathtotheweird
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2010, 05:32:38 PM »

oh wow awesome. Ghostwheel was showing us some html5 games in irc lately, so this will be awesome to check out.
cndpnts
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2010, 11:20:40 PM »

Well, I wasn't able to include everything I wanted with the time I had, but I have something playable anyway.

I did all the development in Safari and Chrome so it should be working in those browsers. Opera may work too, but I'm fairly sure MSIE won't.

This is this first time I've used JavaScript or done any browser-based development, but it was kind of fun. I'm not sure how idiomatic the JS I wrote was, but I can kind of understand the comparisons to Scheme and Lisp now.