Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411517 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 27, 2024, 10:45:31 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)Programmer trying to make some art
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Programmer trying to make some art  (Read 2684 times)
Hayato
Level 0

View Profile
« on: January 13, 2010, 02:58:57 PM »

Hey people.

I'm a programmer working on a few projects, and I have one that I really want to stick with to completion. The art is really becoming a pain though. You can only work with rectangles so much before you want to freshen things up. My problem is that I'm not a very good artists. I'm trying to create some backgrounds (landscapes, that kind of thing), but I would be completely ashamed if I posted any of my crap here. Does anyone know of any tutorials that would help out a beginning artist? After I get less horrible, I'll post some stuff for critiques.

Thanks in advance.

The enemy's gate is down.
nikki
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2010, 04:05:09 PM »

Other people on these board surely have their links ready for such a question. I don't

But i'd rather ask you a thing?

Have you considered to use your lack of illustration skills as a strength ?
You could for example make a complete game/landscape out of big rectangles (solid colored tiles). just give them well-chosen colors, use some smart programmable color effects on them and build your graphics the programmer/ruffian way. Ninja

You could be building landscapes like this , or anything else!

edit: in this post in my devlog is an example program that rougly does what i've described. Its well chosen name is "test program"  Embarrassed
« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 04:09:06 PM by nikki » Logged
Hayato
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2010, 04:11:36 PM »