Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411413 Posts in 69360 Topics- by 58415 Members - Latest Member: sophi_26

April 16, 2024, 01:10:11 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsJobsOffering Paid Workcustom python wrapper for 2d game engine (windows)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: custom python wrapper for 2d game engine (windows)  (Read 2747 times)
as400
Level 0

View Profile
« on: May 04, 2010, 03:18:37 PM »

hi

i'm a programmer (mainly high level languages) who is interested in making a game. but i don't want to get into low level programming too much, as it is not what i exactly want to do, and also it will take too much time to learn low level languages.

actually, i tried to make a small 2d game framework to use in game development, based on pyglet. it was very slow for several reasons. if i work on it some more, it can get a little bit faster, but i think this isn't the right approach, because even then it doesn't look like it will run smoothly.

so i gave up on this, and decided to use a faster, low level engine. but as i wrote above, i don't have enough experience for this.

long story short; what i want is: a python wrapper around a fast 2d game engine/library (i'm not sure which one yet, we can discuss), so that i can code game logic in python. you can choose whatever engine you want, as long as it meets these requirements:
- it has to work very fast. (100-200 32x32 sprites moving and rotating at 30fps?)
- target platform: windows xp/vista/7, low end computers.
- it must be free and it must have a suitable license for commercial games. (we can discuss, basically i want to be able to release and sell whatever i do, without asking for anyone's permission)
- i must approve it Smiley

i will provide very detailed specifications (complete reference) about what i exactly want, so no worries there.