Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411283 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 29, 2024, 05:13:26 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessMy future and street cred
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: My future and street cred  (Read 9149 times)
mrfredman
Level 4

off on an adventure

View Profile
« on: March 16, 2008, 05:26:51 PM »

So I want to make games for a living.
I'm a 20 year old student at UCSC, and I just finished making my first game (in Game Maker) for a class, I'm pretty excited because I made it into the classwide finals, and tomorrow there's a big judging for the best game in the class (I'm so super nervous).
Now you know me.
I think that next year I'm gonna start getting an education in game design. I'm thinking about transferring to an Art Institute and get a game design BS from them. My reasons for elaving the UCSC game program are twofold: 1)The UCSC program is really technically oriented, and I don't have the right kind of brain for programming, I'm an artist (and the Art Institute has an art-oriented programming. 2) My girlfriend is transferring anyways so its a good opportunity to try new things.
Now you know even more about me.
Time to start leading up to my question:...
So at the Art Institute they work in Maya and really work hard to get you a job in the mainstream game industry, which would be a pretty awesome day job.
The thing is, I'm a huge fan of indie games, and I would love to contribute some works of my own over the next few months/years. The thing is, if I get a job as an art drone at EA or something does that make my hypothetical indie games less legit?

As I read back over this and think about it a little more, I realize that the answer to my question is probably: