Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411419 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: timothy feriandy

April 17, 2024, 10:18:50 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsDragon Slayer 1
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Dragon Slayer 1  (Read 1716 times)
Arne
The Pantymaster
Level 6

View Profile WWW
« on: September 12, 2010, 03:23:31 PM »

It'sa me, Marne! I started programming a new game.

Dragon Slayer project page - Yeah, it's based on one of them early graphical computer RPGs. Right now the monsters just slide around (tile locked and synced). They can also push walls around, Sokoban style.

Dragon Slayer 1 is a somewhat sandboxy RPG+Puzzle game where you can push walls around and only carry some items one at a time. You may be more familiar with other games in the Dragon Slayer series, such as Xanadu, Faxanadu or Legacy of the Wizard. Since the newer games play differently, Dragon Slayer 1 has a kind of unique charm to it, even though it's 99% frustrating and tedious.

I'm thinking that I should just do graphics first (in my quick Legacy of Hydon style) and convince someone else to code. I know I haven't got stamina to last a complete project. I mostly just want to see how the PC-88 game looks in isometric '3D' with some fancy battle animations. If I post art here tomorrow I might be serious about it.

« Last Edit: September 12, 2010, 03:31:04 PM by Arne » Logged
PsySal
Level 8

Yaay!

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2010, 06:56:33 PM »

I think this looks neat. If I understand right, you're planning to work out the game with simple 2D graphics first and then make an isometric version with nicer graphics but otherwise the same-- seems like a good way to prototype. However I do like the PC88 inspired graphics.