Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411807 Posts in 69416 Topics- by 58462 Members - Latest Member: Moko1910

May 29, 2024, 01:21:48 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Proccessing on Android: App Game Dev made easy?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Proccessing on Android: App Game Dev made easy?  (Read 2053 times)
namre
« on: October 02, 2010, 01:28:20 AM »

Hi guys,

I chanced upon this article http://www.creativeapplications.net/android/mobile-app-development-processing-android-tutorial/ which is a basic tutorial on how to create apps on android using Processing.

I'm fairly new to Processing and Android development so i was wondering if any of you guys have already used this to create games.

Is this a good option in android game development? Or am i beter off using something else? (if you have sometging that you can recommend, please do so)

Thanks!
 Cave Story
Skofo
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2010, 01:05:29 PM »

Nathan McCoy uses Processing for his weekly games: http://nmccoy.net/

I played around with it for a bit. It's hella easy to code particle systems, procedural graphics and stuff like that in it. It is less intuitive to use it for games because it doesn't abstract things that are common in games, like sprite animation. However, I still consider it vastly superior for making 2D games compared to regular Java with Swing/OpenGL. I don't know what Android uses for graphic rendering so I can't compare...
« Last Edit: October 02, 2010, 08:31:45 PM by Skofo » Logged

If you wish to make a video game from scratch, you must first invent the universe.
namre
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2010, 01:13:05 PM »