Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411508 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 09:16:36 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsyp (working title for a Ruby platformer)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: yp (working title for a Ruby platformer)  (Read 2302 times)
alltom
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: November 15, 2010, 01:08:33 AM »

The "Ruby(game) or Python (pygame) devs?" thread inspired me to actually try making a game for once. I'm an okay programmer and a terrible artist, but we'll see.

yp is going to be platformer where you slice the enemies in your path with a cool sword, or something equally great. But for now you are just a Mario sprite in space.

I'm making this in Ruby using the gosu library. I'm developing on OS X and I have no idea about Windows compatibility yet (and I'm not even sure if I have a Windows install anywhere right now), but I'm pretty sure all the libraries I'm using are supposed to be cross-platform. Smiley I'm imagining I won't get many playtesters for anything that doesn't run on Windows, if not a browser.

I have a bunch of sketches of various levels and things, but first I'm interested in getting some good controls. In anticipation of some of the mechanics I'd like to use later, I'm mapping keyboard presses to forces applied to the player in a Chipmunk physics sim.