Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411484 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58427 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 03:28:11 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)A little game I made (advice needed)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: A little game I made (advice needed)  (Read 2604 times)
Akhel
Level 10

View Profile
« on: April 22, 2008, 01:47:36 PM »

Hello Tigers,

A few weeks ago I started learning Python and PyGame. I don't know much yet, but I did manage to complete a very small game - STORMTANK2, named that way because "storm" and "tank" were the first two words to come into my head when I thought "what game should I make?". Tongue The first STORMTANK did not involve PyGame and sucked too much for me to show it around.

This is not a terribly fun game; I didn't give much thought to its design. I made it just as an exercise.

So what I'm asking for is some feedback on my code. What do you think I did wrong? What can I improve and how? The AI is very rudimentary because I don't know how to make pathfinding and such; any good resources on that? The code is extensively commented, but I'm not sure if it's legible enough. If it isn't, what mistakes did I make and how could I avoid them in order to write more human-readable code in the future?

Python is very simple, so maybe you could give this a shot even if you don't know the language.

I'm more interested in advice about the game logic than Python or PyGame, but these are certainly very very welcome as well. Advice about the game design is not unwelcome, but not my primary goal (that's why I'm posting this in Technical instead of Feedback).

I'm not sure if I'm asking for too much, but I'd be very thankful if someone could help me. Please note I had no prior significant programming experience.