Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58433 Members - Latest Member: graysonsolis

April 29, 2024, 03:09:55 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)Using vectors to make a sprite?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Using vectors to make a sprite?  (Read 3971 times)
PogueSquadron
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« on: December 07, 2010, 07:35:36 PM »

Hey everyone.  Please bear with me, as I'm still new to this whole world.

So, I'm very well versed in Photoshop and Illustrator.  I have no problem using the pen tool to make smooth lines for illustrations.

However, in the many sprite tutorials I've seen, they always recommend using the pencil tool in Photoshop.  While I understand that the pencil will paint pixel by pixel, it undoubtedly creates lines that I'll have to go back and touch up.

Is there a way to use the pen tool to accomplish this same task?  That is, could I alter any options so that the pen tool will create lines that are 1 pixel wide, with no anti-aliasing?  I feel like that would save me a lot of time and frustration, especially since I'm kind of a perfectionist.  Thanks!
ink.inc
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2010, 07:37:43 PM »

I don't know if this is what you mean, but when you hold the shift key in Photoshop, you can draw straight lines.  Shrug
PogueSquadron
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2010, 07:48:11 PM »

Ok, well from what I'm reading (and anyone feel free to correct me if I'm wrong), it is possible to turn off AA with the pen tool...in Adobe Illustrator, but not in Photoshop.  I think I'll try that out and see how it works.