Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411283 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 29, 2024, 01:01:24 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioPhase Distortion synth in Flash
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Phase Distortion synth in Flash  (Read 1622 times)
Triplefox
Level 9

View Profile WWW
« on: December 15, 2010, 01:48:11 AM »

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/254701/blog/testengine.swf (WARNING: It's LOUD!)

I've been working off and on to get this going. Tonight I made some breakthroughs and got it sounding more-or-less like the Casio CZ series does. While simple, it's not a super-well documented technique, and I'm still learning DSP, so I'm way happy it works now  Tears of Joy.

Play with it by drawing around in the top envelope window. Drawing at the top area (representing values down to 0) slows and smooths the waveform; the low area(values going up to 2) make it oscillate more. The most interesting timbres seem to be with mostly 0 or near-0 values - that is, at the top of the envelope. High values in the middle or bottom will mostly produce variations on resonant sounds.

How it works: (with more pictures)

1. Start from a sine wave running at the desired frequency.
2. Modify the phase of the sine wave according to the drawn envelope, which runs at some other frequency(in this test, modulated by an LFO so you can hear the sweep effects). What it looks like. The CZ synths contain built-in wavetables that reproduce "analog-like" waveforms - I like the flexibility of drawing though.