Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411525 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 28, 2024, 06:23:39 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignMemory/History in games.
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Memory/History in games.  (Read 3873 times)
increpare
« on: May 03, 2008, 01:23:13 PM »

I don't know if this is more suited to being here, or on the more technical programming thread, but I thought I'd ask about games where people have memories, or where there's some real sense of the past still being around in them.  Basically, I started playing Dwarfortress a couple of weekends ago, and it struck me that I hadn't seen seen any games where characters had something like real memories before.  And I recall reading in an interview with that guy that even in one of his first, text-based, games, the bad-guys would taunt the player with the namas of previously-killed foes.

I'm guessing that he's not the only guy out there with a penchant for such things, so I figured it might not be too bad a thing to toss it out here.
mewse
Level 6

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2008, 02:11:04 PM »

Many years ago, I worked on a (never released) commercial game, where I was responsible for writing the enemy AI.  It was a vehicle-based arcade combat game, vaguely similar to the Twisted Metal series.