Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411505 Posts in 69379 Topics- by 58435 Members - Latest Member: graysonsolis

April 30, 2024, 08:35:29 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessFlash Programmer Pricing
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Flash Programmer Pricing  (Read 3248 times)
Willseph
Level 0

Code monkey.

View Profile WWW
« on: December 18, 2010, 10:35:34 AM »

Hi all, I'm a Flash programmer and I've recently caught the attention of a video game company that wants me to program their games for them. I don't really know how big their company is, but they asked me for a quote to do a game and I really don't know how much I should ask for.

Does anyone know where the ballpark for something like this would be? I was thinking somewhere around $500-$1,000 but I honestly have no idea.
Evan Balster
Level 10

I live in this head.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2010, 11:12:15 AM »

How big is the game?  Estimate the hours of work you'll put in, triple that estimate (because programmers suck at estimating work time) and figure out a good hourly rate like $15, based on your experience.  Freelancers usually make more per hour than employees due to the irregular nature of their work, so figure that in too.

And you should really look into getting a contract written up so you don't get screwed over.  Regardless of your impressions of your employer.

Creativity births expression.  Curiosity births exploration.
Our work is as soil to these seeds; our art is what grows from them...

Wreath, SoundSelf, Infinite Blank, Cave Story+, <plaid/audio>
Willseph
Level 0

Code monkey.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2010, 11:21:59 AM »