Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 06:07:12 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsSci-fi universe creator (Tabletop RPG)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Sci-fi universe creator (Tabletop RPG)  (Read 3935 times)
TheSpaceMan
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« on: December 27, 2010, 09:37:21 AM »

As well as a ordinary developer I am a Tabletop RPG freak. I am not much for D20 systems since I want to focus more on character skills rather then kills/round.

I also want to play a Sci-Fi game with my players but not be locked to the usual, Star (gate,wars,trek) universe. On top of it all, I want my players to know of the universe and the creatures that lives there and the diffrent empires that exist amongst the stars.

This is a big task since most players don't want to start a game with a 3 hour and 50 minute monolog and many of them won't read descriptions in the books, just look stats and gears.

So I am considering the possibility to create a Pre Rpg Game where the players build up the universe and shape it as well as the main races and places. Then they will know the universe, the races they create will be the possible races to play the game with and the relations between them will be determined by the events in the game.

There would essentialy just be the actions to create, destory modify and claim. Each player will get points to spend and points carry over between turn.

Create: "Influense of power" "Race", "System", "Advantage"
Destroy (or corrupt): "Race", "System", "Advantage"