Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411421 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58417 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 18, 2024, 09:37:56 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioMy first attempt with "real instruments"
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: My first attempt with "real instruments"  (Read 3709 times)
Tom Quinn
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: May 07, 2008, 11:17:48 PM »

Hey folks,

I'm new to the game development scene, so I've been dipping my toes into whatever water I can find. I've tried 3D modeling, coding, and 2D art, so I figured I'd give music a go, too.

Anxious Tedium

I used FLStudio 7 to lay it out and EDIROL Orchestra for the instrument sounds, which I'll admit aren't fantastic. It's been used on the Gamers With Jobs Conference Call a couple times, but I'd like some criticism and suggestions on what I can do to improve. Thanks for your time!
increpare
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2008, 01:59:12 AM »

I quite liked the intro, and how you combined the pentatonic melody on the normal strings with the slightly Mixolydian(=folksy) mode on the pizzicato strings. 

In terms of what I thought might warrant considering from a compositional standpoint, I found the pizzicato string line a little bit monotonous; either introducing some other instruments for flavour (say some woodwind instruments, or maybe some brass if you don't mind that too much.  Or, adding a guitar/lute line might be an option, though their sounds will blend maybe too much with the pizzicato strings.  ) might help bulk it out a  little.  Additional lines would ideally not be playing exactly the same thing as the existing ones: you'd either want to give them melodies of their own, or else have them bulk out the harmony.