Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411488 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58433 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 29, 2024, 04:13:09 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsAthena (working title)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Athena (working title)  (Read 1371 times)
KinoftheFlames
Level 0

Dreamer

View Profile WWW
« on: February 10, 2011, 04:43:41 AM »

Hello everyone I'm new to the TIG forums but I've been on the TIG DB for a few months now after getting into the indie movement. I've been dabbling in game development for a while now and I think I'm ready to commit to making bigger game with some actual merit to it! So without any more stalling...

Download
-- None yet since there's nothing to show --

Description
Athena (project title) is a 2D shmup survival building sandbox game with technology advancement. What does that mean? Well your main goal is to survive, aka not die. Past that, do whatever you want! Explore, find resources, build with those resources. Find food and water to keep your character from crapping out on you (stupid meatbags). Use your resources to create tools and devices to help you terraform the land for irrigation or to hunt animals better. Find new resource types after discovering new technology (via tools or devices) and repeat the process! Oh and there's stuff that tries to kill you. Watch out for that.

Difficulty Expectations
I expect the most problems to come from me not having much experience in game development. I've taught myself all I know either through scouring online resources or via trial and error. It's a long lonely path, but eventually I'll make something that someone might consider a game!

I plan to put it up for download as soon I have anything that resembles a playable game, and from there on I will update the game regularly until it reaches its full potential.