Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411492 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58433 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 29, 2024, 07:32:23 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsCold Metal: a Unity engine transhumanist procedural sandbox FPSRPG
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Cold Metal: a Unity engine transhumanist procedural sandbox FPSRPG  (Read 5598 times)
aDFP
Level 0

View Profile
« on: February 13, 2011, 12:54:48 PM »

Hi. I'm a game design student in Plymouth, UK, and Cold Metal will be my major project this year, though hopefully I'll be continuing to develop it after I gain my degree. It's a pretty major project, so I'm not expecting to finish it any time soon.

One of my models, which might find its way into the game

Cold Metal is the coming together of several ideas I've been kicking around for a while now. Firstly, it's a science fiction universe where a bunch of stories I've been writing take place. None of those have been published yet, but it means I have a fair amount of the world already designed, along with it's characters, technology, society and history.

Secondly, I've been looking into how non-linear narrative in video games can work, and trying to figure out some techniques to bridge the gap between gameplay and storytelling that go beyond emergent narratives. I basically have some ideas and a growing collection of designs, but in order to develop and test them, I need a large, rich game world. Cold Metal is that world. I'm creating as much of the game as I can procedurally, but still trying to make an experience that rivals triple-A titles for depth and variety.