Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411500 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 01:42:44 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArtWorkshopLooking for advice on pixel art.
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Looking for advice on pixel art.  (Read 2378 times)
Thardus
Level 0

Zoooom.

View Profile WWW
« on: March 17, 2011, 10:44:39 AM »

I'm fairly new to pixel work and have mainly stuck with small stuff up until now, but I'm doing a new title screen for Wizard Tower and need some advice on how to make it look good.

So:
The title itself I consider looking good enough to call it done, but if anyone has comments or problems with it I'll take those into account.

The buttons, ignore those for now. They are the 'old' buttons made by the game's programmer and I haven't modified them yet. I'll be getting around to it later. I don't mind suggestions on how they -should- look though.

The subject here is the background for the title screen. As you can see I have a VERY messy rough in place. Regarding this section,

* The perspective is off. I could play around with it, but if anyone has an easier method for determining the correct arcs other than eyeballing it, it would be helpful.

* Lighting. It feels bland to me right now. I'd like to add some contrast and color to it. I'd also like to have the tower be visible and interesting without so blatantly cheating the lighting direction... Actually, now that I think of it, some torches might add interest.

* How does one generally go about detailing and cleaning up this sort of thing? Are there particular techniques to make it look pixel-art-y? I really haven't done this before.

* Any and all other suggestions are appreciated.
Inane
TIGSource Editor
Level 10

Arsenic for the Art Forum

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2011, 03:01:30 PM »