Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 03:50:18 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsUnnamed MMO/RTS/Turn-Based Hybrid
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Unnamed MMO/RTS/Turn-Based Hybrid  (Read 1717 times)
gammagec
Level 0

View Profile
« on: March 17, 2011, 12:34:55 PM »

BIO:
Ok, so I've been making indie games since 1995 (highschool) but I haven't finished anything ever.  I started out with QBASIC and progressed to visual basic, C++, learned graphics programming in College (manually and in openGL), then I started research in High Performance Computing and Medical Imaging which took me away from graphics & games for a while.  Now I work in the Silicon Valley at a Biomedical company doing "GoogleMaps-like" image viewing applications in Java, GWT and Objective C (Cocoa).

My game inspirations from then until now have been:  Dungeons & Dragons (Tabletop), Quest for Glory Series, Dragonlance RPG games (Death Knights of Krynn?), Sim City, The Sims, Final Fantasy Games, Civilization Series, MUDS (Smaug), Spore, Mass Effect, Baldur's gate, Neverwinter Nights

and more Recently
World of Warcraft, EVE online, Minecraft and Dwarf Fortress

I really enjoy the sandbox style games like Minecraft and Dwarf Fortress, but I'd really like to see something more MMO style.
(and more graphical).  I love the procedural world generation in Minecraft as well.  

I started on the Game Framework in Java's OpenGL wrapper (JOGL).  I'm developing in Eclipse Helios using a Maven project structure.

GOALS
Here are my current list of goals for the game:

1. A 3D world map like Minecraft / Dwarf fortress.

2. A multi-player MMO server that sends / receives the "diff" of map data between ticks.