Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 12:06:12 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Flash tutorials
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Flash tutorials  (Read 2571 times)
cmspice
Level 1

View Profile
« on: May 27, 2008, 05:11:38 PM »

So I have some experience in the old flash and it's been a while and now I'm a lot more experienced in other programming languages but really haven't even touched flash since.

Point: I want to make a flash game. The old flash stuff I learned is not only obsolete but also very inefficient. It all involved this gross combination of using the flash gui and actionscript together making for very bad, hard to change, not versatile and inefficient code.

I can't imagine it being even possible to make a game like this. Unfortunately, all the flash tutorials I find teach how to program in this way.

Of course, I'd still like to be able to make use of movie clips and the other bells and whistles of flash since it makes animation and other things A LOT easier. I'd just rather keep the dynamic things (like say, enemy generation, bullet generation, hit detection, level transitions, menus etc...) completely separate.

I want to use flash kinda like how I'm using SDL right now. Where sdl/flash only handles the drawing and I control everything else in the code.

So I'm hoping someone can point me in the direction of tutorial/book/reference that shows how to use flash in this way. It's particularly hard for me to use flash in this way without a guide since actionscript is sorta embedded in that gui.

Thanks in advance.
Don Andy
Level 10

Andreas Kämper, Dandy, Tophat Andy

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2008, 10:09:21 PM »

http://www.gotoandplay.it/_articles/2006/07/as3intro.php