Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411522 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 28, 2024, 06:23:57 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)TutorialsPlatformer Collision and Proper Animation in Game Maker
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Platformer Collision and Proper Animation in Game Maker  (Read 14897 times)
dsvoid
Level 0

View Profile
« on: April 25, 2011, 12:53:38 PM »

I'm very new to Game Maker, but was interested in trying to learn it after I heard my school was offering a 20$/hour summer job teaching ten year olds how to make their own games using it. This morning I tried to make a platformer, and was pleased once I could make a little man run and jump around the screen, but I realized it had two major flaws.

1)The collision, while collide-y and stuff, wasn't really what I wanted. Sure, I was able to create collision between the player and a wall, which was just an invisible square, I wanted to make "one way" collision, where the player object would only check if the wall object was hit from above, allowing for better platforming (like in N! You know the one way platforms in N?). And the collision was horrible in general; running around, the player would get stuck in many different ways on the terrain. I suspect it is because of the changing animations...

2)Speaking of changing animations, I have a simple event set up that when the player is running the sprite switches to a running animation, and when the player is jumping, it switches to a sprite of a jumping man.