Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411524 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 28, 2024, 02:40:45 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesign[Opinion] Analysing what can make a game great
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Opinion] Analysing what can make a game great  (Read 1111 times)
Pentadact
Level 0

View Profile
« on: May 28, 2011, 04:33:36 PM »

I'm a games writer, working on

. So I got interested in the area where writing about games and making them overlap: analysing what makes them good.

It's a little personal, obviously, but I found the list I came up with was helpful right away. I wrote it up in a post on Gunpoint's development blog:

http://www.pentadact.com/index.php/2011-05-27-what-makes-games-good

If you haven't already, I definitely recommend trying to write down what appeals to you in games. It gets you to step back from your design and see new ways to improve it.

This was my list:

1. Challenge
How much you enjoy tackling what you’re being asked to do

2. Feel
Making individual interactions convincing and pleasurable

3. Freedom
The extent to which a game reacts to your choices with interesting results

4. Place
A world you want to be in

5. Promise
The temptation of further possibilities

6. Fantasy
The appeal of playing this role

A better explaination of why those, and why not others, in the post.

Cheers,

Tom Francis
http://www.gunpointgame.com
Sankar
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2011, 03:15:28 PM »

First of all, nice text and initiative. I believe that learning from the past is a nice way to keep our "ancestors" alive and still learn something new. No need to reinvent the wheel.
I've read your blog and I think you got some good points there, I'll share mine:

Responsive and Intuitive Controls