Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411275 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 07:32:36 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsJobsCollaborationsProfessional writer and editor seeks games writing experience
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Professional writer and editor seeks games writing experience  (Read 1268 times)
moonkid
Level 0

View Profile
« on: July 26, 2011, 08:55:52 PM »

Hi all,

I'm a writer looking to get into writing (or editing) for games. I already write about games, and my work has been published on Gamasutra and Beefjack and in PC Powerplay magazine. I also write about other stuff, which has been published around the place, and I'm a qualified book editor. But I'm a creative at heart, and mere journalism isn't enough to scratch that itch.

I'm very aware that this is tricky business to get into, and that good writers often aren't as valued as they should be in the games industry. I think this is changing (just look at the difference the writing makes to a game like Bastion!), and I'd like to do what I can to boot it along in the right direction.

I am in the process of starting an indie studio with a few other guys, but it's taking a fair bit of time to get things rolling, and our first release isn't going to be all that heavy on the words in any case, so for now I just want to get some practice.