Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411644 Posts in 69395 Topics- by 58450 Members - Latest Member: pp_mech

May 14, 2024, 11:40:16 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)I'm a total beginner!
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: I'm a total beginner!  (Read 7661 times)
Bumpeh
Level 0

View Profile
« on: July 28, 2011, 03:21:08 PM »

To start things off, I know you guys must have dealt with this kind of thing a billion times, and I'm not entirely sure if I posted this in the right place, so sorry for that, but here goes...

I'm currently 15 years old and I'll be starting my sophomore year in high school in a few weeks. Halfway through my freshman year I became interested in programming, specifically Video Game programming. Since then I've been studying and working things out, I've been taking baby steps and I try not to let my ambitions get too... well ambitious. So I need some help and I figured best place to go is forums! So here are my questions:

1: I took a computer class in my freshman year and I plan to keep taking them all through high school, I've started to study programming languages, specifically Java. Is this a good move if I'm not completely enlightened on computers yet? Or should I try a different language that will build up to it.

2. I'm still having trouble working out how to pace myself, should I bit huge chunks of information and eat it for breakfast every day and be sure to study everyday, or should I study more lightly and go slower.

3. If this is the right path for me, what are the best ways to study languages, specifically meant for game programs, I hear people say practice and mess around with the source code, but if I'm in there and I don't know what I'm doing it won't accomplish anything.

Thnks for taking the time to read this and help an aspiring programmer.

BlueSweatshirt