Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411493 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58433 Members - Latest Member: graysonsolis

April 29, 2024, 09:17:32 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignQuick Design Question
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Quick Design Question  (Read 1336 times)
CheapDevotion
Level 0

View Profile
« on: August 25, 2011, 12:37:20 PM »

First of all, let me make a quick introduction. My name is Jacob Williams, and I am a 25 year old freelance application developer. As a freelancer, I have been quite successfully, but I have recently started work on my own project. I hear that this forum is the "place to be" for indie game devs.

So on to my question...

Without diving into too much about the game and the gameplay, the game is essentially a planet exploration game. Upon starting the game, a "solar system" is procedurally generated with a random number of planets (more than 10, no more than 30). At anytime while in space, the player can choose to go to a new solar system, which will be generated anew.  Each planet has different things that can be found, some far more rare than others. In addition, the planets with the most rare items will be more difficult in terms of combat. Upon death or leaving a planet, I have two options, both with different pros and cons.

Option 1: Cache the generated planet, and allow for return.

This option allows for player to return to a planet, but in order to allow that, I will have to save a planet's procedural configuration to a file, and load the planet the next time a player arrives. Even with Unity, this would be a lot of work. (3D Terrain, Detail Items, Aliens, etc).