Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411475 Posts in 69369 Topics- by 58424 Members - Latest Member: FlyingFreeStudios

April 23, 2024, 01:55:58 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignGame designer wannabes
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
Print
Author Topic: Game designer wannabes  (Read 14998 times)
Tatsu
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: July 02, 2008, 10:49:22 AM »

A few years back I graduated from one of those gaming schools (UAT). Towards the end of my time there, I saw more and more new students arrive that I can best describe as "game designer wannabes." I'm pretty sure they were the result of the ads the school started posting in PC Gamer magazine. Since that time, I made a friend who's a student adviser, and from her stories I'm convinced that kids growing up want to become game designers more than ever before.

Now, the problem isn't that there are more and more people becoming passionate about games -- that's great. The problem is that 99% of these folks have no clue what it actually means to make a game, and no concept on how to be a team player. I don't know where this idea came from, but the common mentality is that you don't need to have a useful skill to contribute to a game project; you only need one "really good" game idea and others will make the game for you.

This bothers me, so I've been working on an article that I can refer these types of people to. I've read "so, you want to be a game designer" types of articles, but the ones I've found don't directly address this issue, or are too brutal to the point where it's easy to disregard. My goal is to diffuse the "idea guy" fantasy, give a bit of education on the amount of work that goes into a game, then provide some resources for those who are still interested.