Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411421 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58417 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 18, 2024, 07:49:41 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsUnnamed Robot Time Game
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Unnamed Robot Time Game  (Read 3891 times)
ActualDog
Level 3

View Profile WWW
« on: September 29, 2011, 07:09:26 PM »

Robot Time Game
Flixel 2.5 and FlashDevelop

This game is unnamed right now, but hopefully I'll have a good title for it soon!

This is my first time doing a devlog, and the game's not too far along yet, but I figured that doing this would encourage me to work on the game more than I otherwise would.

The basic idea of the game is that you're a robot created to save your village from an asteroid that's supposed to hit in 150 years.  To be able to stop it, you have to get to the top of a mountain near the outskirts of the village where you'll literally be able to catch the asteroid as it goes by.  In order to get to that point, however, you'll have to do what you do best; wait.  

As you wait those long 150 years for the asteroid, you'll have opportunities to help out the villagers with their own problems, and slowly make your way to the top of the mountain.  The game is full of time based puzzles, and by solving them you can get closer to the summit.

A simple puzzle might be that there's a ledge you need to get to the top of.  There's no way to climb up it now, but if you plant a vine and come back in a year, the vine might have grown up to the top, allowing you to climb up.  

As an example of a more complex puzzle, there could be a group of rats that you have to get rid of.  You can't kill them yourself, but if you can manage to separate the males from the females, they won't be able to reproduce anymore, and they'll eventually die off if you wait long enough.