Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411506 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 09:58:37 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsProject Sumo
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Project Sumo  (Read 4473 times)
Limne
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: October 18, 2011, 07:59:05 PM »

Codename: Project Sumo
Dev. Team: Jared Thomson (xoorath) and Laura Lake (Limne)

Having had the pleasure of working with Jared during this year's 48-Hour Game Jam I'm pleased to announce the resumption of our successful collaboration. Jared is of course an awesome coder (with artistic ability) while I'm a decent artist (with coding ability) so our skill sets tend to compliment each other.

Our concept is still taking shape but as things stand we're working with the idea of a 2D fighting game in orthographic space. So far the idea is to have something like River City Ransom-style brawling with the out-of-bounds-style gameplay of Smash Bros; besides standard attacks you can pick things up (including other players), use them as weapons, or throw them like projectiles. We'll see how our concept evolves. Below you can see a very rough mock-up I rigged up to help put what I'm currently thinking into tangible for:

As  for the Dev. log, this is actually my first time keeping one and I'm just about as new to reading them so please bear with me. Luckily, I have the guidance of my esteemed colleague. We are planning on keeping an update schedule as follows: I will be providing updates Tuesdays, Fridays and Sundays while he'll be updating Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays. For now, we'll be off on Sundays.

I did a place-holder logo on paper (above)... It's pretty much egregious but at least it's there.