Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 09:35:04 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessStarting game development for Android
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Starting game development for Android  (Read 3190 times)
AaronM
Level 0

View Profile
« on: October 28, 2011, 06:55:36 PM »

Hello all. I am a highschool student that wants to start making android apps.

Is this a good idea, and can I earn some money off of it? I have Windows and I really want to get a mac to make iOS apps later on.

Please help me.
Thanks
dustin
Level 6

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2011, 09:56:44 PM »

If you want to learn how to program or learn how to make games then it is a good idea, there isn't any better way then to just try it out.  That said while you can earn money my guess is that as a highschool student just starting you would not earn any real amount of money.  This is because making games is hard and your first couple are likely to be horrible (not that that's bad that's just how the firsts of any skill are) even if you do finish them (something that many people struggle with).

If you still want to go through with it I might suggest using flash instead.  I found the android development environment to be somewhat tricky to set up especially compared to flash.  You can bundle your flash games to run on android and even iOS as well as the web and while they will be slower I doubt it will make a huge difference for your first couple games.

If your doing it because you think it'd be a good way to earn some cash it's not really a good idea.  It's likely you won't earn any significant money for a long time.  Most people have been making games a while before they get something sellable.
kamac
Level 10

Notoriously edits his posts

View Profile