Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 27, 2024, 09:23:50 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)I just can't get it right
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: I just can't get it right  (Read 2209 times)
swordpond
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: January 16, 2012, 05:22:24 AM »

I'm currently working on an action platformer, with light RPG features (GM8.1). I'm no graphical artist in any way, and thus when I create something I try to keep graphics simple. This results in "lovely" pixelated sprites, but in most cases it still looks odd and like something I wouldn't want to play.

So I'm turning to you talented TIG artists to perhaps, if I'm lucky, get me some feedback and tips on how to improve the visuals to get a better game in the end.

Feel free to point out anything, no matter how it stings. And if this is the wrong forum, I'm very sorry!

ink.inc
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2012, 05:32:27 AM »

Looks alright to me.
swordpond
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2012, 05:40:28 AM »

How about the background buildings? What do I do to separate the background from the rest? I've tried to make the background buildings lighter and darker, but it still looks odd, and like a graphical anamoly

antybaner
Level 1

also known as antymattar

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2012, 06:06:37 AM »

Those also look ok. But If you want tomake them look further away, make their contrast less visible. But really, I think its ok. Its not AAA or perfect but it looks really fun.

swordpond
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2012, 06:13:28 AM »

How do you mean make the contrast less visible? Contrast on the actual building sprite, or contrast to the rest of the sprites?

increpare