Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411517 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 27, 2024, 10:09:20 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)Pixel/8bit Artists, Help An AI Researcher Out
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Pixel/8bit Artists, Help An AI Researcher Out  (Read 1412 times)
FinalSin
Level 1

Too bad they lose!

View Profile WWW
« on: February 20, 2012, 05:40:25 AM »

Hey folks,

I'm a PhD student at Imperial College in London, working on automated game design techniques. It's a really fun area - our results are super basic (check some of them here) but the research itself is interesting and might one day have some great applications.

Last December I made some Flixel platformers using art I drew based on Oryx's delightful sprites. I'm no artist, so I did it mostly by cribbing off his structures, working out the rough space heads should occupy, and so on.

What I've been wondering lately is whether I could automatically generate a sprite from a photograph. There's two parts to this:

1. Extracting the features of the person (a Machine Intelligence task)
2. Funnelling them into a template

Assuming I could extract (1.) roughly, so I get a skin colour, hair colour and so on, how hard do you think it would be to create little sprites based on these features? Do you think sprites can follow a really rigid template, or would they all look characterless and mannequin-like?

One issue I'm really aware of is picking out important features. If you've only got 4x4 pixels for the body, then a yellow pixel placed well can convey all the detail in the world, that's his sheriff's badge, or a red hankerchief, or whatever.