Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411412 Posts in 69360 Topics- by 58415 Members - Latest Member: sophi_26

April 15, 2024, 10:13:52 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingLittle adventure game I've been making
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Little adventure game I've been making  (Read 12590 times)
Matt Thorson
Level 7

c'est la vie

View Profile WWW
« on: February 17, 2007, 01:50:06 PM »

Hey, I'm a long-time reader of TIGS but haven't really made a name for myself anywhere.  My name is Matt Thorson, I'm a first year Computer Science student up in Alberta, Canada and I've been making games as a hobby for a couple years now.  My site is at http://www.helixgamesinc.com/

Untitled is a unique little Metroidvania project I started about a year and a half ago.  I've been very slowly developing it, and it takes forever because I've opted to custom draw each background and foreground of every screen in the game, plus I'm sort of using it as an experiment in a different method of game design - I didn't plan any of it, just started with the player as an egg in a nest and coded/drew/composed whatever I felt would add to the game.  As a result, I am now going back and changing a lot of things early in the game so they flow better into the latter half, and so the work can be more consistent.  In retrospect it was a pretty foolish decision to start out without a plan =P

I'm not too good at talking up my own work so I'll just let you guys play it and tell me what you think.  The demo is rather difficult, I've been told, and contains about a third to half of the game world and most of the interface features I have planned.  It is best to play with a USB gamepad.

Download: http://www.helixgamesinc.com/projects/UntitledDemo4.zip (4.8 MB, zipped)