Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411428 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 02:19:17 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsUNNAMED Retro Rpg
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: UNNAMED Retro Rpg  (Read 1824 times)
0wnage0tter
Level 0

View Profile
« on: June 28, 2012, 11:15:47 PM »

Hello, I'm 0wnage0tter and I'm a young designer/coder. I'm gonna introduce a game, although I am not entirely sure what it's gonna be named. It's a runescape style 2D RPG. I am currently busy with the Sprites, and not with the coding.

What I want to be added:
-Character customization
-Animations for things such as mining
-More ores, not only silver, gold, iron and copper.
-Easter Eggs :3
-Music

Programs that I use:
-Eclipse (Java Coding)
-Paint.NET

I suck at making music with programs and such, so if anyone would like to help me, please post a sample in this topic and I will look at it.
kamac
Level 10

Notoriously edits his posts

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2012, 01:53:50 AM »

Hmm. Is this going to be an MMO?

If yes, how long have you been coding in Java? I must dissapoint you, but unless you're very experienced in programming (which involves networking, databases, optimalization etc.) then you have no reason to start an MMO. Even if you do, you will most likely fail. MMOs require quite big team of programmers to get done properly.

Why not to make it singleplayer (2D) instead? That would let you gain some experience... And if you happen to finish that one, make another one, that is different genre - and keep them comming. The more you do, the better you are.

0wnage0tter
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2012, 02:08:09 AM »